Seb's Legs

Ian McKay

From Seb's Mum Lorna

We need to talk about Cerebral Palsy. Why? Because it’s Cerebral Palsy Awareness Day (CPAD) today and, with more than 1 in 400 children born with CP across the world, it is the most common movement disorder of childhood. Chances are you already know somebody with CP, a family member, a friend, somebody at your child’s school. And if you don’t, chances are you probably will one day. So it’s important. For our family and for yours.

I don’t have Cerebral Palsy. My son does. But he has only just turned three years old, he’s barely more than a baby. So perhaps I am not the most qualified to talk about this condition – except of course as a mother to a young child with CP; I have plenty of experience with that. I know from speaking with other mothers, and fathers, who have lived through these first couple of years, that our family’s experience is really not unique. And that makes me feel less lonely, but also really rather sad knowing so many families have experienced the same heartbreak, fears and uncertainties as we have, and that so many families will continue to experience this tortuous early rollercoaster before coming to the realisation that ‘Everything will be ok’. Because it will. Let’s just get that out there straight away. EVERYTHING WILL BE OK. If only I had known…