Darkness

Hello chaps

This is my first year racing and I have hundreds of questions but I'll save them for later!

I'm a little confussed on darkness ?

My question is" if I pair up my birds on the 10th December we have natural darkness

How many weeks/months are they ment to be in darkness?

If I pair them on the 10th dec when would they molt?

Hope some one can clear this up for us

I would have thought that pairing up at that time of year

Why would u keep them on darkness till June that's 6

Months surely 8 to 10 weeks is enough to see them through

The body moult,that being the objective ???.

Yes that's my question. So only takes 8-10 weeks so am I right in saying they will be on natural darkness. No need for darkening the loft is they? Or is they???

A friend has told me natural is all they need at that time of year. So I can't see why ppl put them selfs through all the extra work by pairing later in the year. It just don't make sense

Rabbit I'm not an expert on the subject but pairing at that time of the year

I would think that they would shed all their body feathers , but after 8 to 10

Weeks coming of the darkness they would start to cast flights which defeats

The purpose,my young are on darkness but I don't pair up until the 14 th February

I'm afraid I don't see any benefit of pairing that early .just my opinion .

Right now this is making more sense. So first it's body moult then the flights.

Are you ment to pair the yearlings after they have moulted all there flights?

Am important part of darkness youngster is insuring that they get thru the moult between september/November

Right now this is making more sense. So first it's body moult then the flights.

Are you ment to pair the yearlings after they have moulted all there flights?