Breaking Birds To Your Loft

Guest Hairylayer

Guest Hairylayer

My loft Will be finished in the next day or so and I'm getting a few birds generously given to me by a member of pb, does anyone have any advise for breaking the birds to my loft?

How long will I need to keep them in?

Would I ever be able to race them if I transferred them?

Sorry for the daft questions but I'm just starting out and any help would be appreciated.

They are all yearlings or older if that's any help.

My loft Will be finished in the next day or so and I'm getting a few birds generously given to me by a member of pb, does anyone have any advise for breaking the birds to my loft?

Sorry for the daft questions but I'm just starting out and any help would be appreciated.

Hi Do you have a breaking cage that they can see their surroundings ? You won't learn

If you don't ask .there is no reason why you shouldn't be able to race them ,and I would

always transfer any bird you get as if it is reported it is you that it will be reported to and

Not the person you got it from .good luck .

Guest Hairylayer

I've built a 2x2x4ft flight onto the front of the loft (garden shed) with a ply wood floor and a clear corrugated plastic roof on it will that be enough for them? I'm just starting out small.

I've built a 2x2x4ft flight onto the front of the loft (garden shed) with a ply wood floor and a clear corrugated plastic roof on it will that be enough for them? I'm just starting out small.

Yes that should do , my advise is pair them up ,

wait till their or other youngsters are out and in then you have something for them to follow to loft when trying to break .best time IMHO to try breaking is on big youngsters , because if there too small the one parent prob won't feed them properly .

is the member who,s gifting the birds aware you will be "trying to settle them to your loft" ?? :emoticon-0138-thinking: