Blue Tongue

sparko

Hi all

Im new to racing pigeons and 8 young birds that i got from a lincs loft champ ,now the problem is they have been doing really good eating and cleaning good.I cant let these birds out as i cannot lose them as they are my stock birds to breed from next season so i can get a group together so i can start competing in races :) so the problem i have just found was one of my birds has got a blue tip on the tongue and another two are starting to get it now.Just wondering if its something to worry about ,i live in iceland and its cold at the moment so was wondering if they could be cold ,there isnt any draught on the birds in the loft or could it be respiratory problem or something else ? they are all eating good and drinking too with fresh grit and pickstone daily any one else had the same problem ?they also have access to good size aviary

Thanks for that ,i have had them on breeder mix since they was born and they are nearly 8 weeks now and starting to body moult so ive changed to a moulting mix and give them versele laga tea and muta.will have a good look at the ventilation in there tomorrow but it smells very fresh every day i go in to clean so i might treat them with versele laga ornicure CONTAINS DOXYCYCLINE - HYCLATE what you think ?

I wouldn't bother treating for respo this time of year personally, I'd keep them in the avairy every day till just before dark and I'd keep the diet light plenty of barley. I'd also use ur tea with garlic.

thanks i will bare that in mind :)

I think cattle get blue tongue ,dont invent a prob that doesnt exsist,the cold will keep any disease at bay just now ,good feed, clean water, and grit now and then .