The Joe Murphy Column 5/3/20

THE FIFER

The Joe Murphy Column

I was sorry to read in the BHW 28th February issue that Jim and Ann Donaldson of Peterhead are giving up the birds. I first met them when I was a lorry driver delivering kitchens to various shops throughout the north of Scotland. I tried to get to Peterhead on Wednesday night as I met up with a good pal Jim Wiseman who also kept the pigeons. Jim would often invite Irvine Buchan round to his house and we spoke about pigeons, then later on we were invited to Jim and Ann home and sometimes George Taylor would join us. Make no mistake about it Ann Donaldson was as keen on the birds as Jim and she would often put in her tuppence worth when we had these discussions. She has also been a great help to Jim over the years as she would attend to the birds if he was not keeping well. Yes, we had some great times discussing every aspect of our sport and our friendships have continued to this day. I remember they came down to the SNFC race marking station in Kennoway (where I was convenor) and after the birds were away in the transporter I took them to meet up with Dennis Dall in Ladybank. They purchased a blue cock from Dennis who turned out to be a fantastic stock cock breeding 7 x 1st North section winners, 2 x 4th, a 7th 8th & 9th section winners. He was also the sire of Donnann winner of 1st open SNFC Sartilly flying 605 miles when paired to the Rennes Hen. This pair along with their legendary Circus Boy became the backbone of the Donaldson colony. Then of course they had the famous Reims Girl a winner of a SNFC Gold Award for winning 5 times from France into Peterhead she won from Reims 620 miles, Tours 707 miles and was one of the best long distance pigeons in the UK at that time. I could go on and on about the fantastic performances achieved by Jim and Ann however if you read the 28th February BHW issue you will see their achievements for yourself. I wish both Jim and Ann all the best for the future and know