Tribute To Derrick Nordon Of Langholm

THE FIFER

Tribute to Derrick Nordon of Langholm

Derrick Nordon of Langholm; I received a phone call from Ralston Graham of the same village who informed me that Derrick had passed away this morning Sunday13th October. Derrick has not had good health these past few years and has never been right since having his gallbladder removed. Recently he has been very breathless and the doctors in the hospital told Anne that he had taken a silent heart attack (which no one know about) lately he caught pneumonia and this took its toll on him. Needless to say I was totally shocked at this news as Derrick his wife Anne and son Brian go back a long way. When I was a long distance lorry driver I used to stop over at Langholm on a Monday night and spend the evening with both Anne & Derrick and sometimes Albert Tedham and we had some good laughs. They gave me a bed for the night instead of sleeping in the lorry this kindness is the mark of both Anne & Derrick and I have held them in high esteem ever since. A nicer couple you could not wish to meet and it breaks my heart to write this obituary of someone I have always held in high esteem. To Anne, sons Derrick, Brian, daughter Louise and their children and grandchildren I send my heartfelt condolences at their sad loss.