Breeding Blacks

hi I got a pair of blacks at blackpool , I was checking there young and they have a red in the nest ! had black's for a few years but ive never had a red from them ??

I have a red pied cock that produces pure blacks

He also produces silver mealy /mosaics

When i enquired from my friend who gifted it to me he said its grandfather was black his grandmother a red white flight

The red pied was paired to a blue hen to produce the above mentioned

I am sure pure Black pigeons will produce only pure Black pigeons.

In your case, your pigeons are not pure Black. They are genetically split for Red and the Black is masking this feature. If you are sure that no other pigeon is involved, then this Red YB is recessive to the Black and may be a pure Red, but could also be split and carrying a Red gene.

I am not an expert in pigeon genetics, but suspect this is a case of incomplete dominance. :)

I paired a blood red to a pure black both from Dave Delea hoping for a black but got a red cheq and a barless mealy ,second nest I got an almost white and a red gay pied ,then 2 red cheqs.

Paired the barless to a cheq and got a barless and a black so have now paired the black hen to her grandfather the blood red just to see what I get

They are all pure Dave Delea pigeons .

Confused ! me too .

I paired a blood red to a pure black both from Dave Delea hoping for a black but got a red cheq and a barless mealy ,second nest I got an almost white and a red gay pied ,then 2 red cheqs.

Paired the barless to a cheq and got a barless and a black so have now paired the black hen to her grandfather the blood red just to see what I get

They are all pure Dave Delea pigeons .

Confused ! me too .

Your right Colin, barless they due produce